Sudan States and Counties

Nature Vacation Package Costa Rica

States and counties
There are ten states of South Sudan grouped in the three historical provinces of the Sudan.
  Bahr el Ghazal
  Greater Upper Nile
South Sudan is divided into ten states which correspond to three historical regions of the Sudan: Bahr el Ghazal, Equatoria, and Greater Upper Nile.
Bahr el Ghazal

  • Northern Bahr el Ghazal
  • Western Bahr el Ghazal
  • Lakes
  • Warrap


  • Western Equatoria
  • Central Equatoria (containing the national capital city of Juba)
  • Eastern Equatoria

Greater Upper Nile

  • Jonglei
  • Unity
  • Upper Nile

The ten states are further subdivided into 86 counties.

The Abyei Area, a small region of Sudan bordering on the South Sudanese states of Northern Bahr el Ghazal, Warrap, and Unity, currently has a special administrative status in Sudan and is governed by an Abyei Area Administration. It was due to hold a referendum in 2011 on whether to join South Sudan or remain part of the Republic of Sudan, but in May the Sudanese military seized Abyei and it is not clear if the referendum will be held.